In your message Inbox, you see an overview of all ongoing conversations with your candidates, making it a great tool to make sure to stay updated on the relevant current communication!
How the Inbox works
You'll find the Inbox in the top right corner next to the bell icon for your notifications. All of your messages from candidates will appear here. To open your inbox, simply click on the icon and the inbox will pop up on the left showing the conversations you’ve got going on.
Your two views
My messages: Under My messages, you see all the conversations you have participated in, so either conversation where you have written to the candidate or that has been assigned to you.
☝️ Note that a conversation appears under My messages for all users that have been active in the conversation at one point.
Team messages: Team messages lists any ongoing conversation with candidates that you have been invited to view. This is a great place to see any conversations your colleagues are having. You see conversations here if it belongs to a team, or if you’ve been added to a conversation.
Let’s talk a bit more about what it means that a conversation belongs to a team:
If a message is within a job context, the conversation will appear under Team messages for the entire hiring team (including teams).
If a message is in the global context, it appears under Team messages for members of any related Teams.
When you’ve opened your Inbox, and are viewing one of the mentioned views, you can choose exactly what type of conversation you want to view. This will for sure help you to keep organized! Let’s take a closer look, and keep in mind that these filters are on the specific view you’re looking at.
All: filtering on All conversations lists all the active conversations
Unread: this filter will show you every conversation that has not been read
Unanswered: lists all conversations that you have read but have yet to answer
Archived: this will list all archived* conversations
*an archived conversation is any conversation that you have manually archived (or “closed”). However, if a candidate were to answer in an archived thread, it will pop back into action.
💡 Archive the conversations that are managed! This is a great way to ensure that your open conversations are the ones that are active and requires your attention.
The conversation overview
Now, let’s jump into the details of a specific conversation! First, you click the message to open the thread. This will look something like this:
Here you send the outgoing messages to the candidate, as well as see the incoming messages. As always, your and your team’s emails are pink and the candidates are light gray.
In the conversations view, you have a bunch of actions to take (besides the given: answer the message). Look at the top right of the window, and this is what you can do:
Schedule a meeting with the candidate, using the calendar feature
Open the candidate's full profile
Archive the conversation when it’s been handled
Open additional options, which include:
Mark as unread: this marks the conversation as unread
Reassign: reassign ownership of the conversation to another user. This means the message will move from your My inbox view over to your colleagues and they will be notified when the candidate answers
Add users: if you want a user to be a part of this conversation, here you can include them. This means they will see the conversation under Team messages (Note! You can only add users that have access to the candidate)
Who can view the conversation?
When viewing a conversation, you might wonder who will be able to see the messages sent. This is easily answered: every user you can see listed above the message will see it. These are the users that have been in dialogue with the candidate or have been added to the conversation.
This is how it works with the “Team messages”.
If a message is within a job context, the conversation will appear under “Team messages” for the entire hiring team (including teams).
If a message is in the global context it’s depending if we find any matching team for the candidate department and/or location. If we find one, that team will have the conversation under “Team messages”. If not we only have a single assigned user.