Like happiness, recruitment is best when shared! However, sometimes (like at later stages in the process) the information on the candidate card might turn more sensitive, and not something all your team members need to see. For these cases, you can implement the feature for Restricted candidates.

When you restrict a candidate, the entire candidate profile will only be accessible by your Company admins, Recruitment admins and the Recruiter of the job process/processes the candidate belongs to. Your hiring team members will see that the candidate still belongs to their process, but will no longer be able to view the information and/or communicate with the candidate.

☝️ This is an Add-on feature, so to start using it you need to activate it under your Feature center.

There are several ways for you to restrict a candidate, let’s go through them one by one.

Manually restrict a single candidate

If you have one candidate you want to restrict the access to, this is easily done directly in that candidate’s profile. Open up the profile and click the three buttons at the top of the page and toggle Restricted access on.

Manually restrict several candidates

Say you have several candidates you wish to restrict the access to at the same time, you can do this in a matter of clicks with the bulk feature. To do so, enable the Bulk select (1), select the candidates you want to restrict (2). In the bulk action menu appearing at the bottom of the page, click the ... (3) to see more options and here, you’ll find Set as restricted.

Automate candidate restriction with job stage trigger

You are also able to automate the candidate restriction by adding it as a Trigger. This means that every time you move a candidate to the stage in question, the candidate will automatically be restricted.

To activate this trigger, go to your job process and click the Trigger wand (1). Then, on the stage you wish to restrict candidates, click Add trigger (2) and select Restrict candidates.

💡 In the screenshot above, all candidates moved in to the Offered stage of the process will be restricted. This means only admin users and the recruiter of the candidates role can view and interact with the candidate, making it easier to discuss sensitive topics.

What happens when the candidate is restricted?

☝️ When restricting the candidate, their profile is restricted throughout your entire candidate bank. If the candidate belongs to several recruitments, their profile is restricted in all processes.

After a candidate as been restricted, the information is only accessible for the following users:

  • Company admins

  • Recruitment admins

  • Recruitment leads

These users will be able to view and interact with the candidate like always.

To avoid confusion, it’s clearly stated in the tool that the candidate is restricted. This is both displayed in the job overview, with the Restricted access icon (see first image), and when the profile is opened (see second image).

What does the other team members see?

Your colleagues that won’t have access to the restricted candidate will still be able to see that the person exists in their process, but will no longer be able to open or interact with the profile. The candidate is greyed out, and if trying to open/move it, they’ll see a gentle reminder that the candidate is restricted. It will look something like this:

Please note that the team members that can’t access the candidate’s profile will still be able to move the candidate forwards/backward in the process.

Is it possible to un-restrict a candidate?

If you’d like to make the candidate available for all users again, you simply go to the candidate’s profile, click ... and toggle the Restricted candidate OFF. The candidate is now visible like before.

Please note that all interaction with candidate when restricted will be available for all users.

Did this answer your question?